Wall to Wall commemorative batons were delivered to Canberra for a ceremonial presentation to founders Michael Corboy, Brian Rix and National W2W committee chair John Laird to be carried via motorcycle to Commissioners in each Jurisdiction. 

Brian Rix has been joined on the ride around the country by John Laird, Victoria’s LSCs Mark Vipond and Georg Berk, and retired Superintendent Luke Moore and Retired Inspector Stephen Hudson from NSW.

The purpose of the baton re-run is to:

  • to highlight the 10th Anniversary of the Wall to Wall ride;
  • to promote the principles of the Wall to Wall ride
  • to highlight among former and current serving police officers the work of Police Legacies
  • Promote community interest in supporting Police Officers and their legacies

Proposed Itinerary May/June 2019

Sat May 18th    Depart Melbourne to Canberra (666km)

Sun 19th          Canberra – Ceremony at National Police Memorial to present batons to the riders and to present                             AFP baton to Commissioner.          

                        Travel to Sydney (290km) overnight in Sydney

Mon 20th         Sydney –  NSW Baton presented to the Commissioner

                        Travel to Tamworth (377km) overnight in Tamworth 

Tues 21st         Tamworth to Grafton (309km) overnight in Grafton

Wed 22nd         Grafton to Brisbane (via Beaudesert) (322km) overnight Brisbane

Thurs 23rd      Brisbane – Ceremony at QPS Memorial Botanical Gardens Brisbane Central to present baton to                              Qld Commissioner Stewart

                        Brisbane central to Roma Roma (477km) overnight Roma

Fri 24th             Roma to Longreach (701km) 

Sat 25th            Longreach to Mt Isa (646km)

Sun 26th           Mt Isa to Tennant Creek or a roadside stop after Three Ways (663km)

Mon 27th          Tennant Creek to Dunmurra (355km)

Tues 28th         Dunmurra to Darwin (634km)

Wed 29th         Darwin Ceremony to present Baton to NT Commissioner at NT Memorial

                        Rest Day – overnight in Darwin

Thurs 30th        Darwin to Timber Creek (602km)

Fri 31st             Timber Creek to Halls Creek (584km)


Sat 1st              Halls Creek to Broome (686km)

Sun 2nd            Rest Day – overnight Broome

Mon 3rd            Broome to Port Hedland (609km)

Tues 4th           Port Hedland to Coral Bay ((745km)

Wed 5th            Rest Day – Coral Bay overnight

Thurs 6th          Coral Bay to Carnarvon (238km)

Fri 7th               Carnarvon to Geraldton (480km)

Sat 8th             Geraldton to Perth (414km)

Sun 9th            Perth – Ceremony to present baton to WA Commissioner

                        Rest Day – Perth

Mon 10th          Rest Day – Perth – tyre change, service, repairs

Tues 11th         Perth to Kalgoorlie (593km)

Wed 12th          Kalgoorlie to Balladonia Hotel/Motel (377km)

Thurs 13th        Balladonia Hotel/Motel to Eucla (519km)

Fri 14th             Eucla to Streaky Bay (601km)

Sat 15th            Streaky Bay to Adelaide (701km)

Sun 16th          Adelaide – Ceremony to present baton to SA Commissioner

                        Rest day or to leave for Melbourne

Mon 17th          Adelaide to Melbourne (727km) – overnight on the road

Tues 18th         Rest day Melbourne/Castlemaine

Wed 19th          Melbourne Ceremony to present Baton to VIC Commissioner

                        Overnight on Spirit of Tasmania to Davenport

Thurs 20th        Davenport to Hobart (255km)

Fri 21st            Hobart – Ceremony to present baton to TAS Commissioner at TAS Academy Memorial

                        Rest day – Hobart

Sat 22nd           Hobart to Sty Helens(178km)

Sun 23rd          St Helens to Davenport (via Scottsdale) (354km)

                        Overnight on Spirit of Tasmania

Mon 24th          Arrive Melbourne